String Quintet no. 3, Op. 97

The String Quintet in E flat major, Op. 97 (B. 180) was written by Antonín Dvořák in Iowa, in 1893. It is sometimes called a "Viola Quintet" in the sense that it is scored for a standard string quartet with an extra viola. Completed in just a month, and immediatly after his American String Quartet, it reflects the mixture of American and Bohemian traditions that make up Dvořák's music. The work is in four movements and lasts around 35 minutes.
Radio App

Get the Radio App

Stream great classical music on the Web, Mobile or Apple TV

Download the App


RecordingString Quintet no. 3, Op. 97


String Quintet no. 3, Op. 97


There are no questions yet.